Father & Son | Christin Grønnslett

Hello everyone. Christin here starting off Celebrate Dads Week. Again we are a little bit off with the dates – no Fathers day around here, that we celebrate in November, but what about doing something else for the dad ??

christin gronnslett hip kit june 12th001

This layout is made with the 2016 May Kits. As you can see on my background I have used the 2016 May Color kit – the shimmering white paint used with a stencil is in the kit and a nice blue/green mist I have added here and there.

christin gronnslett hip kit june 12th004

I wanted this layout to be very masculine so I went with a lot darker colors than I am used to. It’s good to try and challenge yourself with the colors you use.  The dark colors were chosen also because the amount of black in the pictures I have used.  On the left my husband over 30 years ago and on the right Troy just a few month ago – I had to find a photo that had lots of dark color in it to match the old photo that I have scanned.

It’s really nice to see the similarities and differences and see what been passed on and what has not.  I have done similar projects with me and my girl with pictures from when I was little and it’s really fun.

christin gronnslett hip kit june 12th002

So what I have used on this layout ?? First of all – a lot of exclusives papers and embellishment designed by Kim and Kimberly. Unfortunately no cut files used this week – I managed to start cutting without adding a mat last week and ruined by last knife and since I have the old Silhouette I haven’t gotten around to ordering a new knife. I guess I have to upgrade to a cameo some day…  I have mixed pieces from the May 2016 May Kit, May 2016 Embellishment kit and May 2016 PL kit. I like to use the PL cards as layers – somethings I cut them in smaller pieces, but usually I keep them the way they are.  You can see I have used several under the left picture.  To add more dimension I added the Simple Stores frames underneath the pictures.  You don’t have to use the same ones side by side.   Some enamel hearts and bows from Bella Blvd are placed here and there..

christin gronnslett hip kit june 12th003

Because of my rather messy background I decided to add some vellum underneath the title so it was more visible.

Have a nice weekend.

Christin Gronnslett dt