Watercolor & Hand Stitching with June Kits

Hey, friends!  Missy back with you, and I have another fun layout to share using the 2016 June Hip Kits.  I’ve really been inspired lately by the projects uploaded in the Member Forum on Facebook.  I’ve seen a few projects by Zsoka Marko and Laureen Wagener where they created large script titles, watercolored them and then hand-stitched around the edges.  I wanted to try that, so I started off by creating my title and using my Cameo sketch pens to draw it.  I used the Shimmerz from the Color Kit and few from past kits to color the letters.  Then I used some embroidery thread and a needle to stitch with each coordinating color around each letter.  It did take some time, but the end result was worth it!  I used three Project Life cards as layers behind my photo and for my journaling, and I used a few fussy cut flowers from one of the Simple Stories papers from the Main Kit and Paper Kit.
Coolin Off
Here’s a close-up of the watercolor and stitching.  This really isn’t difficult to do; it just takes time and patience.  Using a water brush made it really easy to blend one color into the next.  And I didn’t use any gesso on my card stock beforehand.
Coolin Off1
This PL card was perfect for my journaling, and I added several Simple Stories word & phrase and alpha stickers from the Project Life Kit as well as a brad and a Jillibean Soup wood veneer arrow.  I also added in a lot of colored tangled thread from my stash.
Coolin Off2
I used a few of the exclusive puffy stickers from the Embellishment Kit and a die cut here to create this bottom cluster.  I tried to get all the main colors represented here in one way or another.  I love the tiny blue puffy hearts from the exclusive alpha sheets!
Coolin Off3
I layered a few fussy cut flowers here and topped off the center with a brad.  I also did a bit of machine stitching.
Coolin Off4
Here’s one last close-up of that stitched title.  I will definitely try this again.  The result is just beautiful, and I think anyone can do this!
Coolin Off5
Here’s my process video if you’d like to see how this layout came about.  I hope you are inspired and get some fun ideas!

Thanks so much for stopping by today, and have a great day!
Missy Whidden