Thursday Inspiration with Cara Vincens and Flora Monika Farkas

Hello Hip Kit fans! It’s another Thursday, and each week design team members will be given a product, kit or idea to create with. We’ll post them here to inspire you with different ways to use the same thing.

 This week Cara and Flóra are going to show you creative ways to use washi! Flóra is scrapbooking and Cara is in her Traveller’s Notebook.

Flóra is up first:

This time I was without any idea, so I decided just to jump into the project and start.

@floramfarkas_washi_bunting_hip_kit

First I choose the papers and the gathered all the coordinating elements such as pink, black&white, yellow embellishment. I really enjoy to create the huge cluster “column”. The February 2017 Hip Kit includes so many gorgeous stickers, die cuts and much more.

crate_paper_maggie_holmes_chasing_dreams_die_cut

crate_paper_chasing_dreams_stickers

When the cluster was ready I grabbed the Pink Paislee – Paige Evans Oh My Heart stickers book from the February 2017 Project Life Kit. In this book you can find a sheet of fun washi stripes. I adhered them on a piece of baker’s twine to create a cute bunting.The bunting gave me the idea to place my title in this way.

washi_tape_bunting

I really love the pretty and happy result! I suggest you sometimes go crazy with materials. You don’t need to save them because the next Hip Kit will come so soon! 😉

Thanks for stopping by today! Flóra

flora-monika-farkas

Here are Cara’s ideas:

washi-times-3

I’m in my traveller’s notebook and I’ve got 3 different ways that I like to use washi to share with you. These washi strips are from the Paige Evans sticker book from Pink Paislee. They stick really well and are quite sturdy, so they can be really functional as well as pretty in your planner, which is great to know if your planner gets a lot of wear and tear from day to day. This functionality is what this first tip is all about:

washi-1

1. Use washi to adhere only on the back of your tip-ins to keep the design of the front whole. The tip-in will stay in place but you don’t have to cover up any pretty designs on the front of your card.

washi-2.jpg

2. Washi makes a great base for a cluster. It helps ground the other elements that you will layer on top. This orange strip becomes part of the whole of the cluster, but without it as a base, the other items would seem lost. It gives the other elements a nice place to sit.

washi-3.jpg

3. Washi makes great tabs, so that you can easily find a page in your planner. The wider the washi, the easier it is to use, but here I’ve used a rather thin washi and it works just fine, you can easily see that blue tab and find the page.

This video walks you through my process as I go through each step, so grab a cuppa something warm, it’s a long one!

Happy Planning!

cara-vincens-2

Let us know how you like to use washi in the comments!