Friends Forever | Lea Lawson

Hey there, Hip Kit Club friends!!  Lea Lawson here with my first post as an official team member!!  I’m so excited to start my journey, creating with all the amazing kits in the coming months.  Today I am jumping right in with the February 2015 Main Kit & the Embellishment Add-On kit!

These kits are pretty much the epitome of me…they include my favorite colors {aqua, pink & gold} and have an artsy & whimsical feel to them!  I’ve created a couple of cards all about friendship for you today!  It seemed fitting as I get to know my fellow designers & the Hip Kit Club members!!

My first card has a watercolor feel to it, and I’ve actually added just a tiny bit of watercolor in the form of balloon strings!
020415-HKC-1-1

I trimmed the “friends forever” circle from a 3×3 card from one of the 12×12 papers in the main kit, and layered it with a chipboard shape & wood veneer to create the balloons!  Then I added a couple of black watercolor brushed lines to make the ties for the balloons!!  Here are some close-ups of this one:
020415-HKC-1-2 020415-HKC-1-3 020415-HKC-1-4 020415-HKC-1-5

For my second card, I created the sentiment with the Heidi Swapp blue glittered alphas.  I love how bold they are compared to the rest of the card….it completely pops off the card!  I’ve eclectically layered bits & baubles here and there until the card felt finished.  This way of designing is a very organic process for me, and is one of the reason I LOVE these kits!!
020415-HKC-2-1

Even though both cards are pretty different from one another, I still wanted them to feel like a pair.  So, I used chipboard butterflies on each one with a knot of gold thread underneath.  Check out the details of my second card:
020415-HKC-2-2 020415-HKC-2-3 020415-HKC-2-4 020415-HKC-2-5

Thanks for checking out my post today!!  I hope that you gained some inspiration from my cards today, and I look forward to seeing what you create with the February 2015 Hip Kits!!

Lea Lawson_1

2 thoughts on “Friends Forever | Lea Lawson

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.