2 Fun Layouts | Missy Whidden

Hey, friends!  Missy here to share another layout using the 2015 May Hip Kits 🙂  You know, sometimes there are color combinations that I would never pair together.  Teal and red, for example.  They just don’t seem to go together for me.  That was until I saw this striped Dear Lizzy patterned paper!  I absolutely love them together mixed with the light pink and the bright yellow!  It’s so different and unique, and I really love it.  I always seem to be proven wrong when I think certain colors can’t be paired up.  I did minimal mixed media work (for me, anyway) on this page.  After adhering my paper layers, I added a bit of white gesso.  I used one of the little pink American Crafts stencils from the Color Kit and some modeling paste to create those fun words on the left, and then I used the packaging technique with some pink watercolors.
Mini Mower
I used several pieces from the Pink Paislee Ephemera package in the Main Kit…these lemons are so cute!  And the Evalicious Puffy Stickers match perfectly.  I added pop dots behind the lemon and my photo strip to add dimension.
Mini Mower1
I really love the pink mixed in with this color scheme.  I decided to add in the enamel ampersand from Chickaniddy.  I have pops of black scattered around the page, including my title.
Mini Mower2
Here’s a look at the top of the page.  I covered up some crooked stitching with the “Happy Note” puffy sticker and then restitched right above it.  I added in some of the Dear Lizzy washi tape, the Chickaniddy Enamel Shapes and Clear Stamps and finished it off with a die cut from my stash and some tangled thread.
Mini Mower3
Here’s a close-up of the modeling paste.  It’s really easy to use, especially over a stencil.  You literally use a palette knife or an old gift card and just smear it over the stencil.  Once it was dry, I used some watercolors over it and then lightly traced around the letters with a silver pen.
Mini Mower4
Lastly, here’s a look at the bottom.  Those transparent acetate triangles are in the Pink Paislee die cut package.  I made a little banner out of them and then stitched it down.
Mini Mower5
Here’s a video showing how I made this layout from start to finish if you’d like to see it.  Hope you enjoy!

I had a little bit of spare time this weekend, so I played around and finished another layout using the May Kits!  Woo hoo!  I wanted to use one of Nicole’s exclusive cut files for the Hip Kit members, so I cut it on cardstock and then backed it with a piece of the wood grain Chickaniddy paper.  I traced around the edges with black pen to make it stand out.  I combined the Mermaid Lagoon Distress Ink with the Electric Lime and Cracked Pistachio Paint Dabbers to come up with these lovely green shades.  I came back in with some pink watercolors and blue gelatos.

Happy
Isn’t this the cutest cut file?  I added pop dots under it to give it lots of height, and I love how you can see all the beautiful ink underneath it.
Happy1
Here is the top part of the layout…lots of fun embellishments.  Stamps, washi tape, chipboard, Project Life cards, and an acetate piece.  I love mixing and matching all of these fun elements!
Happy2
I wanted the focus of this page to be mostly tones of blues and greens.  Pink did find its way in, though…haha 🙂  I love these puffy wood grain alphas from Evalicious.  The Chickaniddy stamps are so fun to use…they’re perfect for any page.
Happy3
One last close-up of the side…I colored this wood veneer and glued it right to the photo.  That’s a first for me, I think!  But the photo allowed it and it didn’t cover up anything important.
Happy4

Thanks so much for stopping by!  Be sure to check out all the gorgeous kits in the store! Have a great day!
Missy Whidden

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.