This Was Fun | Missy Whidden

Hey, friends!  It’s Missy back with you today.  I have another bright and fun Summer layout to share using the 2015 July Hip Kits!  I began with some white cardstock from the Cardstock Kit and created the text “You Are My Sunshine” a few times in my Silhouette software.  I cut it out and then used patterned paper, some of the Simple Stories Washi Paper Tape and some gelato-colored cardstock to back the words.  I did add a bit of the Mermaid Lagoon Distress Ink to the background because I wanted to give the illusion of water splashes.  I used a few pieces of the Crate Paper Poolside chipboard, a few puffy stickers from October Afternoon and some die cuts from Elle’s Studio. All of these elements are from this month’s kits.
This Was Fun
I can’t get enough the Mermaid Lagoon.  It’s from the May Color Kit, and it’s gorgeous.  I layered a few patterned papers as well as some vellum behind my photo and then added in some chipboard and some tangled thread.
This Was Fun1
I used one of the Simple Stories chipboard frames to the left side of the photo and added several things on top if and around it.  I decided to make my title inside the frame.  I added a big Elle’s Studio heart, an October Afternoon flair button and a puffy sticker on top of my photo.
This Was Fun2
Here’s a look at the background.  This was really easy to do.  I just typed my text in a font that would cut clearly and then backed it all with various papers.  For the blue and orange, I used gelatos on white cardstock to get the color I wanted, and then I just cut it into strips and glued it down.  I also used my sewing machine to add straight and zig zag stitches in between each line.
This Was Fun3
One final close-up of the chipboard layers…I just couldn’t resist this beautiful flower from the CP chipboard sheet.  And that little puffy fish fits my little daughter just perfectly!
This Was Fun4
You can check out how this layout came together if you’d like…hope you enjoy!

Thanks so much for stopping by, and have a wonderful day!
Missy Whidden

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.