This Tree | Missy Whidden

Happy Thanksgiving, sweet friends!  Missy back with you today.  I have another holiday layout to share using the beautiful 2015 November Hip Kits!  I’m obsessed with all of the awesome tree die cuts this month, and so I decided to create my own little forest of trees.  I used the November Moodboard as my inspiration for this…I love the bottom right corner picture of those triangles.  I used a square punch from my stash and created squares from patterned papers and some from cardstock that I colored with the gold Color Shine and silver paint dabber from the Color Kit. I then cut the squares diagonally and recreated those fun triangle designs.  I made them into trees!  I show all of this detail in my process video down below.  Here’s the moodboard…
Nov Mood Board
I used the Basic Grey paper as my background.  I used a lot of white gesso to fade away some of the pattern and prepare the paper for my mixed media.  I used gelatos and spray inks to create some color behind the die cut trees.  I layered the trees all over and placed my photo on top.  I also tore some papers to create a “ground” for all those trees.
This Tree
I love these colors!  I love how they look layered together.  I fussy cut Merry & Bright from a 3×4 card.  I love the gold color here.  I also topped each tree with a gold glitter star sticker.  So cute!
This Tree1
These Thickers…omg!  They have to be my favorite.  I used some pink ink and a small paint brush to color them…I love the result!  You can customize these any way you want, and they are very sticky, too.
This Tree2
Here’s another close up of the trees near the photo.  I really love the darker teal on the background.  I think it makes the light teal cardstock pop a little more.
This Tree3
I used this cute little Pinkfresh Studio deer puffy sticker and this flair button.  I didn’t want to go too crazy with embellishments since the trees are pretty busy themselves.
This Tree4
Have you tried tearing your paper instead of cutting it?  I really like the look of uneven edges…it keeps things interesting for me 😀  I added this cute wood veneer heart and did some gold machine stitching through the Thickers as well as all those triangle trees.
This Tree5
One more close up of the top of the layout.  I LOVE these acrylic shapes…they are such a fun and unique embellishment!  I also added in some of the Pinkfresh puffy hearts and a wood veneer.
This Tree6
Here’s my process video if you’re interested in seeing how this layout came together.   I hope you enjoy!

Thanks so much for stopping by, and HAPPY THANKSGIVING!
Missy Whidden

1 thought on “This Tree | Missy Whidden

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.