Shine | Missy Whidden

Hey there, Hip Kit friends!  Missy here, and I’m sharing my first layout using the gorgeous 2015 December Hip Kits!  Aaaaaccckkkkk!!!!  They’re so amazing!  I kept ooooohing and aaaaaahing over every piece as I opened them.  I just had to start with this beautiful Maggie Holmes Overlay from the Paper Kit.  I placed it on top of white cardstock so the colors would really pop, and then I did something for the first time.  I added gesso and paint to it!  I’ve never tried gesso or any type of wet medium on a transparency before, but it worked wonderfully.  I treated the overlay just like cardstock or patterned paper.  When it dried, I used all three of the Shimmerz paints from the Color Kit and they went on perfectly with the gesso.
Shine
I used a few of the Project Life cards as layers behind my photo.  I just had to use a piece of the American Crafts aqua glitter tape from the Main Kit….it is beyond beautiful!  And I couldn’t resist this LOVE acetate piece from the Shine collection.  I’m telling you…every single piece of these kits is amazing.
Shine1
Here you can see the Shimmerz Paints…so shimmery and pretty!  I did some gold machine stitching for color and texture, and I used the Golden Wheat Shimmerz to color the Heidi Swapp die cut word here.  I used a few pieces of the Shine chipboard as well as more of the die cuts.
Shine2
I didn’t think I was going to use that diamond, but it wound up being the perfect piece for this layout!  And the title matches it so well 🙂  I used a few of the gold glitter Thickers on this page, too.  Here you can see the white gesso a bit, but it blends in nicely with the white background and faded away some of the circles.
Shine3
Here’s the left side of the layout…hello gorgeous colors and embellishments!  I colored the wooden heart with the Tickle Me Turquoise Shimmerz and added in a few die cuts, Thickers and chipboard.  I also added in some tangled thread from my stash and the Maggie Holmes stamp roller from my stash.
Shine4
Here’s one more look at the background.  I highly recommend trying some mixed media on this dotted overlay…it was surprisingly easy and I got great results.
Shine5
You can check out my process video to see more of how I worked with this overlay.  I hope you get some great ideas!

Thanks so much for stopping by today, and have a great day!
Missy Whidden

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.