Happy Hues and a Project Life Card Tutorial!

Hey everyone! I have a fun layout and a short tutorial on embellishing some Project Life cards to share with you today that I created using the lovely April 2016 Hip Kits and this month’s mood board hues!

1noted

Using the beautiful colors from this moodboard helped me create this layout of my daughter getting excited for spring to arrive.

IMG_4768

I started by using a yellow stamp marker to color several of the sentiments on the Elle’s Studio patterned paper so they stood out on my page. I used a coral marker to make the “Enjoying Every Moment” sentiment stand out and then I layered one of the Pinkfresh Studio acetate words and a few pieces of the Shimelle Star Shine ephemera pack that’s available in the April 2016 Main Kit around it for my title.

noted

I used a piece of the floral ampersand cut file from Kim Watson and placed it under the two photos of my daughter. I thought the flowers coordinated perfectly with the daisy she was holding in the photo! I placed several enamel dots around the flowers to bring out the pops of the pinkish red color from the moodboard.

noted2

On the left side of my page I placed various bits and pieces from the April 2016 Kits next to my photos. I used several of the Pinkfresh Studio acetate words and gold foil puffy stickers as well as one of the Amy Tangerine Rub-ons and a piece from the HKC Exclusive Cut Apart Sheet designed by Kim Watson that’s available in the April 2016 Embellishment Kit. I love how the mix of embellishments gives my page a little extra dimension and the rubber charm stickers from Pinkfresh Studio are so fun to use!

noted3

Next up, I have a quick tutorial on how I embellished some of the Project Life cards in the April 2016 Project Life Kit to be used on my upcoming monthly PL spread.

First, I gathered several of the PL cards from the April PL kit that I wanted to use and once again, used the colors from the April Moodboard as my inspiration.

PLcards1

I had punched a circle out of the yellow and white striped PL card for a previous project so instead of throwing it out I placed the “sparkle” sticker from the Shimelle Star Shine Clear Sticker pack (available in the April 2016 Embellishment Kit) and placed it on a piece of vellum and then used the same size punch to punch it out and layered it under the striped PL card.

PLcards2

Next, I used a couple strips of the Amy Tangerine Better Together Washi Tape from the main kit and placed them along the diagonal line of the triangle PL card and layered a Pinkfresh Studio gold foil puffy sticker on top of it. This card has all of the happy hues from the moodboard and is still very clean and simple which I love.

PLcards6

I added another punched circle from a different PL card and cut out the black and white sentiment strip from the HKC Exclusive Cut Apart Sheet designed by Kim Watson and layered them over the camera image of the dotted card to better coordinate with my color scheme. I also added a few more enamel dots for a little dimension and an extra pop of color.

PLcards5

I did the same thing with the “my heart is open” sticker making sure to place it on a piece of white card stock before adding it to the yellow and white striped card so it would stand out and cover the pink butterfly.

PLcards4

Using cut files is another great way to dress up a PL card so I cut out the “dreams happen” sentiment from the floral ampersand cut file designed by Kim Watson, sized it down, and placed it on top of the red and blue polka dot card. I added the word “can” to the sentiment using the yellow puffy letter stickers from Pinkfresh Studio. I like to line my letter stickers up using a clear ruler to make spacing a little easier and to make sure that the letters will fit on the card before actually placing them down and committing.

PLcards7

PLcards8

I couldn’t resist using the beautiful butterfly on the 4×3 PL card but since it was going the wrong way for my pocket, I decided to cut it out and place it on another card so it would fit. I also used the stencil from the April 2016 Color Kit by tracing around the outlines of a few of the butterflies using a fine tipped journaling pen. I love the pops of black the butterflies give my cards so I outlined the large one, too, for added contrast.

PLcards9

And here’s a peek at my completed  Project Life cards….

PLcards10

I love how well they coordinate and utilize the colors from the moodboard. I will be using them on my next Project Life spread so be sure and check out that post next Tuesday on the Hip Kit Club Facebook page.

PLcards11

PLcards12

I know this was a doozy of a post but I hope I’ve given you some inspiration on how to dress up and embellish your PL cards using items from the April 2016 Hip Kits! Thanks so much for stopping by today!

Adrienne Alvis Graphic

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Hues and a Project Life Card Tutorial!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.