Customizing Die Cut Leaves with Missy Whidden

Happy Monday, friends!  Missy back with you today, and I’m excited to share my newest layout using the 2016 October Hip Kits!  The theme for this week is Fall or Harvest, and I couldn’t wait to use some of the leaves from Kim Watson’s cut file.  I live in Florida, so we don’t really get a typical Fall season where the leaves change their beautiful colors.  Here, our leaves are either green or dead…haha!  This photo was taken on Thanksgiving Day a few years ago, so technically it IS Fall even though it looks like Summer.  So I decided to create my own leaves with lots of Shimmerz Paints and create a bright Fall page.  I cut most of the leaves from white cardstock from the Cardstock Kit, and I cut the rest from papers from the Main Kit & Paper Kit.  My very first piece of inspiration for this layout was the navy blue 4×6 Project Life card with the beautiful multi-colored feathers on it.
fall-in-florida
Before I removed the die cut leaves from my cutting mat, I used some of the Crushed Coral Texturez and Glorious Day Vibez from the Color Kit along with several other Shimmerz from past Color Kits to color them.  I used my finger to smudge, I used a brush, the packaging technique, the splatter technique…just anything to get messy & splotchy color down.  I used some blue & teal sprays on the patterned paper leaves to give them some shading as well.  Once they were dry, I peeled them off and stitched through a few of them with gold thread.
fall-in-florida1
I added some foam behind my photo as well as some tissue paper and then went to work layering all those leaves behind it.  I added a few of the gold Rub-Ons from the Embellishment Kit as well to bring out more the gold pops.  I love how the leaves curled up from the mixed media work!  This wound up having fabulous dimension in the end.
fall-in-florida2
I created another leave cluster down under the photo and added a few of the shiny gold Thicker leave stems from the Take Me Away collection (Main Kit).  I also added a few of the Simple Stories metallic gold clear stickers.  I really love the depth here.
fall-in-florida3
Here’s another look at the dimension.  I used a piece of floral Maggie Holmes patterned paper as background layer although most of it was covered up in the end.
fall-in-florida4
I decided to use one of the We R Memory Keepers wood veneer pieces under the photo.  I went simple with my title and combined some of the exclusive puffy alpha stickers with some small wood grain alphas from WRMK.
fall-in-florida5
Here’s my process video if you’d like to check it out.  I had a blast making this, and I hope you get some great ideas from it!

Thanks so much for stopping by today!  Have a terrific week!

missy-whidden

1 thought on “Customizing Die Cut Leaves with Missy Whidden

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.