Creating Winter Scenes on Ornaments

Happy Monday, everyone!  Missy here, and this week the Design Team is sharing off-the-page ideas for the holidays.  I decided to create some cute ornaments for our Christmas tree using the 2016 November Hip Kits.  I punched 3-inch circles from white cardstock and then sorted through the patterned papers and embellishments.  I was first drawn to the adorable Crate Paper Snow & Cocoa papers with the little houses, birds and trees on them. You can find those in the Main Kit and Paper Kit.  I fussy cut some of them out and created a fun little snowy scene.  I fussy cut the bear from the cut apart sheet and that darling snowman from a die cut.  The squirrel and birds on the first ornament are from the Hip Kit exclusives.  These were really fun to create, and I was even able to work in the Shimmerz products from the Color Kit!
ornamentsdecor
For this cute bear ornament, I sprayed some pink Shimmerz from my stash and then machine stitched with some bright pink thread.  I adhered the bear and then added some of the exclusive puffy stickers designed by Kim Watson in the Embellishment Kit.  For the snowman ornament, I added some of the Shimmerz Coloringz Well Blue Me Down from the Color Kit this month and a paper strip of trees from one of the CP papers.  I added some tangled thread under the snowman and then glued down some of those little white pom pom balls.  I also added a few of the exclusive phrase stickers from the Embellishment Kit.
ornamentsdecor2
If you remember my first layout using these kits, I cut a bunch of Irit’s trees from her cut file set.  I had these left over, so I added them to this ornament with the squirrel.  Again, I added some of the Shimmerz and even some splatters from the Vibez Glorious Day from last month’s Color Kit.  I stitched around the edges with gold thread and attached the trees and animals.  I also added some of the Pinkfresh Studio gold acrylic pieces from the December Documented Kit and an exclusive phrase cut apart.  I used an older Hip Kit stencil and the Shimmerz Dazzlerz for the other ornament to resemble snow.  I also added some torn vellum to the bottom of these.
ornamentsdecor1
These look adorable on our tree!  I just punched a hole in the top and added some cord.
ornaments-tree4
ornaments-tree1
Here’s my process video if you’d like to see how these cute little ornaments came together.  They were fun to make!

Thanks so much for stopping by, and have a great week!

missy-whidden

1 thought on “Creating Winter Scenes on Ornaments

  1. Very sweet. I’d make an advent calendar from these, either fastening 2 together with a gap at the top for a little treat, or fixing them to a board and doing it that way

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.