Fussy Cutting Patterned Paper with Missy

Happy Monday, friends, and HAPPY NEW YEAR!  Missy here, and I have a new layout to share using the 2016 December Hip Kits.  I decided to do some fussy cutting for this page.  I’ve learned to always take a close look at my patterned papers to see if you can cut out any of the designs.  This beautiful paper by Maggie Holmes jumped out at me, and so I took some time and cut out all the plus signs.  They look like they’re all made from washi tape.  I arranged them in the shape of a heart on my background paper, which is one of the exclusive Amber Star papers designed by Kim Watson.  I love the gorgeous blue color!  I jazzed up the area behind the plus signs with white gesso, Shimmerz and some gelatos.  Both of the papers I used are found in the Main Kit and Paper Kit.  One of my favorite parts about this page is the fun little tassel banner I created at the bottom.  Those pieces are from Crate Paper and are in the Main Kit.
crazy-eyes
Here you can see the background color.  I used some of the Shimmerz Well Blue Me Down Coloringz from last month’s Color Kit and mixed it with the Heidi Swapp Sweet Mint Color Shine from this month’s Color Kit.  I also used colors from my stash.  I wanted to make those plus signs pop, so I made the background colors really bold by using the packaging technique, my brush and my fingers.  I did some machine stitching around the heart and on some of the plus signs with silver metallic thread.  I mixed and matched my title using the Thickers from the Main Kit and Project Life Kit.  I also added in the cute die cut banner from the Paige Evans Take Me Away collection.  That cute “remember this” die cut is an exclusive this month.
crazy-eyes1
I love all of these beautiful colors!  I used a few more patterned papers to layer behind my photo as well as a bit of the Lilac cardstock from the Cardstock Kit.  I also added a few bits of tangled thread.
crazy-eyes2
To jazz up this white Thicker, I used a silver metallic pen to create a bit of shading on the edges of the letters and then smudged with with my finger.
crazy-eyes3
I added one of the cute decorate clips from Pink Paislee right onto my photo and added some purple tangled thread.  I punched a large yellow circle from one of the Pink Paislee papers to use as a layer, and that pink “love ya” tag is also Pink Paislee.
crazy-eyes4
I love how this tassel banner turned out!  I used some pink thread and hung them all on it and then arranged it under the photo.  I added some glue under each one so they would stay put.  My journaling fit nicely under it.
crazy-eyes5
I had a great time putting this together!  I hope it inspires you and gives you some fun ideas to try with your patterned papers.  Don’t be afraid to cut them up!  Here’s my process video if you’d like to see how I created this.

Thanks so much for stopping by!  Have a wonderful week, and Happy 2017!
missy-whidden

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.