Diagonal Design with Missy Whidden

Hey, friends!  Happy Monday 🙂  Missy here with a new layout featuring the 2017 January Hip Kits.  Aren’t they so beautiful?  I wanted to create a fun and unique color scheme for my page, so I decided on the pink and coral watercolor paper from Pink Paislee Moonstruck and paired it with the two blue and white exclusive papers.  All of these papers are in the Main Kit & Paper Kit.  I created vertical strips to make a base for my photo and embellishments, and then I decided to go diagonal with the design.  I started with my photo in the upper right area and worked my way down to the lower left corner with the embellishments and title.  I used some white gesso on the background before coming in with some of the Heidi Swapp Teal Texture Paste from the Color Kit and some Shimmerz Jeni B Bleu Vibez.  I mixed and matched a lot of the embellishments, and I love how it all turned out.
beautiful-friends
I loved adding some blue watercolor effects to this beautiful patterned paper.  I used the packaging technique first with the Texture Paste by watering it down.  It created a really soft blue look, and to darken it up a bit,  I added the Shimmerz.  I also added in some pink Shimmerz from my stash and added a little bit of a red gelato to get the right pink shade.  I used the HAPPY letters from the exclusive die cut pack and paired it with some of the One Canoe Two butterfly rub-ons and stickers as well as a few of the exclusive wood veneers from the Main Kit.
beautiful-friends1
I did use the stencil from the Color Kit with the Texture Paste.  I used a brush to apply it instead of a palette knife, and I like the subtle shapes I got.  I printed my journaling on my computer and glued it to this label sticker from One Canoe Two.  I added one of the cute metal clips and added foam under it for some dimension.  I fussy cut that cute flower from one of the 4×6 Project Life cards and added a bit of blue watercolor to it.  I finished off this area with one of the exclusive cut apart phrase pieces and a Moonstruck puffy sticker.
beautiful-friends2
I fussy cut these pretty flowers from one of the exclusive patterned papers and added some blue watercolor to them to jazz them up a bit.  I added some tangled thread under them as well as an exclusive flower die cut and wood veneer.
beautiful-friends3
I gave the butterfly rub-ons dimension by applying them to some scrap cardstock and cutting them out.  All I had to do was add a dot of glue to the centers so I could bend up the wings.  I also punched a few of the blue circles from the patterned paper I used on the left side to bring in more of that color on the right.
beautiful-friends4
Here’s a look at the title area.  I love how it turned out!  I combined some of the Moonstruck pieces here with the white puffy alpha stickers from Studio Calico.  I also stitched through HAPPY for some added interest and detail.  I just love those butterflies!
beautiful-friends11
Here’s my process video if you’d like to check it out.  I hope you are inspired to try something fun!

Thank you so much for stopping by!  Have a fabulous scrappy week!
missy-whidden

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.