Monochromatic Layout | Missy Whidden

It’s Monday again…woo hoo!  Missy here again to share another layout using the beautiful 2017 January Hip Kits.  I began this page by going through all the embellishments that I hadn’t used yet.  I noticed I hadn’t used those fun metallic Heidi Swapp chipboard frames from the Main Kit yet.  I pulled three of them out and arranged them on the Fountain cardstock from the Cardstock Kit.  I liked the way that looked with my photo layered on top, so I went with it.  I also pulled out all the pieces that were either blue, mint, aqua or green and decided to go with a monochromatic color scheme.  I jazzed up the background with some white gesso.  I used some of the Teal Heidi Swapp Texture Paste from the Color Kit.  I watered it down on some plastic packaging and then added in some of the Shimmerz Jeni B Bleu Vibez from the May Color Kit.
sweet-legs-ee
I created a lot of dimension here because of the thickness of the frames and the layering.  I added some adhesive foam under that blue camera sticker to make it even with the frames.  I combined some of the Hazelwood stickers from the Project Life Kit and rub-ons from the Main Kit with some of the exclusive Hip Kit die cut flowers from the Embellishment Kit and wood veneer pieces.  I colored the fabric Thickers with some Shimmerz and a gelato.
sweet-legs1
I love how these frames look on the watercolor background.  I did some machine stitching through each one and then at the bottom and top of the design with some light blue thread.  My journaling fit nicely to the right of the bottom frame.
sweet-legs2
I love this metallic gold!  I added some Gold Heidi Swapp Color Shine to echo the frames.  That beautiful butterfly sticker is from the Hazelwood sticker sheet, and I added some navy blue thread under it.
sweet-legs3
Here you can see more of the dimension.  The frames automatically create it, and it’s awesome.  I made sure they were glued down well on the mixed media background.  I layered in more wood veneer, stickers, cut aparts and rub-ons here.
sweet-legs4
Here’s one last close-up of the top area.  I love these colors together.  It’s fun to limit your color scheme sometimes and see what you can come up with!
sweet-legs5
Here’s my process video if you’d like to watch how I put this layout together.  I hope you enjoy and are inspired!

Thanks so much for stopping by, and have a great day!
missy-whidden

1 thought on “Monochromatic Layout | Missy Whidden

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.