Using a Dark Background with Mixed Media | Missy Whidden

Happy Monday, friends!  Missy here again, and I’m sharing a new layout using the 2017 May Hip Kits.  I was recently inspired by a layout by Paige Evans where she used black cardstock as the background and added a lot of bright colored squares to it.  I loved how the colors popped right off the black paper.  Once I saw this black and white grid paper from Amy Tangerine, I knew I wanted to try something similar.  I fussy cut a lot of things for this page including the title, which is from one of the Pinkfresh Studio Papers from the Main Kit & Paper Kit.  I fussy cut all those gorgeous flowers from one Shimelle paper.  The ones on the right are actually Shimelle die cuts, but they’re the same type of flowers.  I went over the background area with white gesso and smudged it with my fingers.  I wanted to create a white haze behind everything.  I used gelatos and the Prima Watercolor Confections from the Color Kit to create all the color smudges and watercolor splotches.

I love how all these flowers look layered over each other.  The colors are beautiful, and they look so pretty with the dark background and mixed media.  I wound up typing my journaling on my computer and creating sentence strips.  I thought writing with a black pen would blend in too much on the background.  The journaling strips stand out a little bit more.

I combined one of the exclusive laser cut wood veneer pieces from the Project Life Kit with my fussy cut title here.  I love the big bold statement of this big word.  Above it I added a flower cluster of die cuts, a cute Shimelle camera sticker and a Dear Lizzy sticky brad.  That row of hearts is an exclusive puffy sticker from the Embellishment Kit.

Here you can see the top flower cluster.  I raised my photo up with adhesive foam.  I added a layer of tissue paper behind it as well as some tangled thread, a few Crate Paper buttons, an exclusive wood veneer tab and a cute Dear Lizzy puffy sticker.

I layered the “A” on top of the photo since there was some blank space there.  The slant of the “A” lines up perfectly with the slant of her arm.  On this side, I layered in more thread, another button and some of the Crate Paper Chipboard plus signs.  I mainly added those as a fun random element and an extra pop of black and white.

I love how the mixed media turned out here.  To add the white splatters, I just watered down some white acrylic paint and used my brush to splatter it.  I also added some Heidi Swapp Gold Color Shine from my stash.

Here’s one more close-up of the layers and dimension.  Fussy cutting is awesome and gives you some very unique designs 🙂

I hope this inspires you in some way!  You can check out my process video if you’d like to see how I created this layout.

Thanks so much for stopping by today, and have a great week!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.